Maureen Long is a winner of the 2016 Macelwane medal of the American Geophysical Union.

July 21, 2016

The AGU was established in 1919 by the National Research Council, and has grown to be the largest and most influential geophysical organization in the world with 62,000 members. The Macelwane is one of the top few international prizes recognizing the accomplishments of young geoscientists, and is one of only two Union-wide awards. It is for “significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding early career scientist.” From the AGU website:

“Established in 1961, the Macelwane Medal was renamed in 1986 in honor of former AGU president James B. Macelwane (1953–1956). Renowned for his contributions to geophysics, Macelwane was deeply interested in teaching and encouraging young scientists.” 

You can read more here:

Maureen joins two other distinguished Macelwane winners in G&G, Dave Bercovici and Jun Korenaga.