Shun Karato has won the 2016 Inge Lehmann medal of the American Geophysical Union

July 21, 2016

The AGU was established in 1919 by the National Research Council, and has grown to be the largest and most influential geophysical organization in the world with 62,000 members. The Lehmann medal has been awarded to only a handful of the world’s greatest geophysicists—true giants of the field. It recognizes “outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core.” From the AGU website: 

“Established in 1995, the Lehmann Medal is named in honor of Inge Lehmann, who made many contributions to our understanding of the Earth’s deep interior, including her discovery of the Earth’s inner core in 1936.”

You can read more here: