Departmental DEI initiatives and the IDEA committee

The Yale EPS department is committed to fairness, equity, and inclusion of all people from all backgrounds, along dimensions that include (but are not limited to) economic status, race, ethnicity, age, nationality, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, philosophy or ideology, religion, veteran status, and (dis)ability. The EPS department has a committee that spearheads departmental work on DEI issues, known as the Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Racism/Discrimination Committee.

I = Inclusion: creating an environment that welcomes participation and expression for all

D = Diversity: fostering a community with diverse ideas, perspectives, and backgrounds

E = Equity: pursuing fairness and equal opportunity for all to thrive

A = Anti-racism and anti-discrimination: opposing discrimination on the basis of race or other attributes

The Yale EPS IDEA committee works to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion among the EPS and Yale communities and the larger New Haven area. We organize initiatives and events that engage and benefit Department members.

The IDEA committee was formed in Fall 2019. It includes representatives of EPS faculty, post-doctoral researchers, research staff, graduate and undergraduate students; as with other departmental committees, appointments are made by the Department Chair. The committee reports to the Chair and consults with the Chair and the Directors of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies.

Current committee members (Fall 2023): Dave Evans (chair), Ashley Arroyo, Kim Espinal, Jennifer Girard, Armita Manafzadeh, Kara Newman, Lex Schultz, Jordan Wostbrock, Maureen Long (ex-officio).


Past committee members: Bhart-Anjan Bhullar, Ruth Blake, Derek Briggs, Tim Gibson, Chris Griffin, Meng Guo, Zhenting Jiang, Jenn Kasbohm, Joachim Katchinoff, Jingjun Liu, Maureen Long, Elvira Mulyukova, Donald Penman, Alan Rooney, Elizabeth Sibert, Sophie Westacott, John Wettlaufer, Jonathan Wolf.

Feel free to email the committee, or to any of us with comments and suggestions. We welcome ideas for programming and initiatives from members of the EPS community. If you have experienced or observed any form of discrimination, please reach out to the EPS Department Chair, the chair of the IDEA committee, and/or the Directors of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies.