Climate Sciences People

Jay Ague's picture Jay Ague
Henry Barnard Davis Professor of Geology and Geophysics
jay.ague@yale.edu
Website

Deep metamorphic and tectonic carbon cycling in subduction zones and collisional mountain belts. 

Carbon capture and storage

David Bercovici's picture David Bercovici
Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Geology and Geophysics
david.bercovici@yale.edu
Website

Carbon capture and storage

Ruth Blake's picture Ruth Blake
Professor of Geology and Geophysics, of Chemical Engineering and of Forestry And Environmental Studies
ruth.blake@yale.edu
Website
Paleotemperatures
Paleoclimate
Environmental temperature proxies
New proxies for sea-surface temperature reconstruction
Microbial biothermometers
Mark Brandon's picture Mark Brandon
Professor of Geology and Geophysics
mark.brandon@yale.edu
Website
Orographic precipitation and water isotopes
Paleotopography and paleoclimate
Alexey Fedorov's picture Alexey Fedorov
Professor of Geology and Geophysics
alexey.fedorov@yale.edu
Website
Climate change
Climate variability
Climate predictability
Paleoclimate
Ocean’s role in climate
Atlantic meridional overturning circulation (AMOC)
Arctic climate change
El Nino
Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO)
Tropical Cyclones
Jacques Gauthier's picture Jacques Gauthier
Professor of Geology and Geophysics
jacques.gauthier@yale.edu
Website

Adaptive radiations
Biogeography
Hot-House & Ice-House climates
Diversification rates
Effects of climate on vertebrate evolution

Pincelli Hull's picture Pincelli Hull
Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics
pincelli.hull@yale.edu
Website
past oceans and climate
extinction
evolution and ecosystem change
Jun Korenaga's picture Jun Korenaga
Professor of Geology and Geophysics
jun.korenaga@yale.edu
Website
Global water cycle and sea level change
Plate tectonics and atmospheric evolution
 
Kanani Lee's picture Kanani Lee
Associate Professor of Geology and Geophysics
kanani.lee@yale.edu
Website
Deep mantle-atmosphere connection
Long-term Earth evolution
Juan Lora's picture Juan Lora
Assistant Professor - starting January 2019
jlora@ucla.edu
Website

General Circulation Models, Hydrologic Cycles, Paleoclimate, Planetary Climates, Regional Climate

Michael Oristaglio's picture Michael Oristaglio
Senior Research Scientist
michael.oristaglio@yale.edu
Website

Geophysical remote sensing
Energy geoscience
Carbon sequestration

Jeffrey Park's picture Jeffrey Park
Professor of Geology and Geophysics
jeffrey.park@yale.edu
Website
Geological time series analysis
Paleoclimate
Carbon cycling
Long-term Earth evolution and climate
El Nino
Global warming
Noah Planavsky's picture Noah Planavsky
Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics
noah.planavsky@yale.edu
Website
Evolution of atmospheric carbon dioxide and methane levels.
Carbon cycling
Long-term Earth evolution and climate
Paleoweathering proxies
Alan Rooney's picture Alan Rooney
Assistant Professor
alan.rooney@yale.edu
Website

Isotope Geochemistry

Paleoweathering proxies

Deep-time Earth evolution and climate

Pliocence & Pleistocene Paleoclimate

Ronald Smith's picture Ronald Smith
Damon Wells Professor of Geology and Geophysics and Professor of Forestry and Environmental Studies
ronald.smith@yale.edu
Website
Satellite analysis of surface climate feedbacks
Mesoscale meteorology and regional climate
Mountain influence on weather and climate
Aircraft observations of the atmosphere
Prographic precipitation using stable isotopes
Gravity waves in the amosphere
Ellen Thomas's picture Ellen Thomas
Senior Research Scientist in Geology and Geophysics
ellen.thomas@yale.edu
Website
Carbon cycle perturbations
Oceanic extinction events
Ocean acidification
Ocean deoxygenation
Coevolution of Earth and Life
Paleoclimate
Climatic processes and geochemical cycles
Paleoenvironments
Anthropocene
Long Island Sound
Mary-Louise Timmermans's picture Mary-Louise Timmermans
Professor
mary-louise.timmermans@yale.edu
Website
Arctic Ocean and climate
Ocean heat and freshwater transport
Ocean mixing and dynamics
John Wettlaufer's picture John Wettlaufer
A. M. Bateman Professor of Geology and Geophysics and Professor of Mathematics and of Physics
john.wettlaufer@yale.edu
Website
Energy balance models
Stochastic processes
Nonlinear time series analysis
Arctic Ocean
Sea Ice
Geophysical Fluid Dynamics