Dave Bercovici elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

May 2, 2018
Dave Bercovici, the Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Geology and Geophysics and member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences! From the Academy website:
“The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research.”
Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.”
“Current NAS membership totals approximately 2,300 members and nearly 470 foreign associates, of whom approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes.” 
You can see the full list of new members at http://www.nasonline.org/news-and-multimedia/news/May-1-2018-NAS-Election.html, featuring a strong showing from other Yale departments including Gunter Wagner, our colleague in E&EB whom many of you know.
Dave joins a truly distinguished list of past Academy members from G&G, including Bob Berner, John Rodgers, Karl Turekian, and George Veronis over the past few decades, as well as many luminaries from farther back in time. In fact, Yale’s James Dwight Dana, Benjamin Silliman Sr., and Benjamin Silliman Jr.—all of whom made fundamental contributions to geology—were Charter Members of the Academy at the time of its founding.
This is tremendous recognition for Dave, for G&G, and for STEM at Yale. Please join me in congratulating Dave on his research, teaching, and leadership achievements!